The Best of 2014

2014 has gone so so quickly. Don’t you think? A lot faster than most years anyway. I know it sounds bad but I am so glad we are through with the A, B and C’s.

Why?

Well because each of these had over 15 countries in them. I felt I wasn’t really getting anywhere. But D, E, F, G, and H don’t have many in them so we will be speeding through the alphabet. Anyway here are my favourite worldly recipes of 2014.

Chicken

Kale

Kale Meneira (Bottom) and Chicken in a Nut Sauce (top) from Brazil

Both of these are delicious and perfect for summer or winter. The sauce for the chicken is full of flavour. I can’t fault either.

IMG_0262

Poitrine de Poulet au sirop from Canada

Although the photo may be ugly this was delicious. The chicken was sweet, not dessert-y sweet but lovely savoury sweet. And sooo moist.

IMG_1762

Alfajores from Chile

These were the softest and shortest shortbread I have ever eaten. I can’t believe we haven’t made them since. I think I will make them for Christmas Day.

DSC_0129
DSC_0135

Dumplings and Greens from China

Wow, both of these were incredible. The dumplings we have made countless times since as they are so easy and delicious. You don’t have to serve them with the soup, you can fry them or steam them. These greens are brought to life by this sauce, its hard to describe how good it is. You’ll just have to make it for yourself 🙂

DSC_0053

Badjadera from Croatia

I promised that bajadera would be on my favourites list at the end of the year. So here it is.

DSC_0040

DSC_0067

Slow Roasted Lamb and Grain Salad from Cyprus

These would have to be my ultimate favourite for this year. Although I am coming up to eating the lamb for the fourth time in one month tomorrow….. I particularly love the salad so full of flavours and textures. It can’t be beaten!

Thank you for following Whats In Elly’s Belly this year and for putting up with my dodgy photography! I’m looking forward to more amazing recipes next year!

4 thoughts on “The Best of 2014

Have a thought?

